APPLE is no longer “great” at Customer Service & Customer Support


Apple no longer #1 in Customer Service

Yesterday, I went to the Waterloo Apple Store at Conestoga Mall. I have been a keen Apple geek and #MacAddict since 1988, since the SE40 Macintosh, all the way through various desktops and laptops and iPads (never been an iPhone fan). I have always found Apple Care and Apple Customer Service to be exemplary and the best of all computer retailers. BUT NOT ANYMORE.

My own customer service encounter with an Apple Genius at the Genius Bar

So here I was at the Genius Bar and they searched my wife’s MacBook Pro serial number and model number. This MacBook Pro is from 2012. The architecture for this 13 inch MacBook Pro only changed in October 2016. They neither carry parts nor service this edition of the MacBook Pro at the location, or ANY other Apple Store location.  The genius guy I was dealing with was personable and engaging and good at his job. BUT, the only thing they could do is to take it apart and check the hard drive, the RAM and the OS on the MacBook Pro, and all that for a fee of course. So why would a person want to do that if they cannot fix or provide the parts for the wonky track pad, which was my reason for showing up at the Apple Store in for in the first place.

So my review of the Apple Store & Genius Bar and my Customer Experience is simply this:

  • The sales & customer service people are tops. Very personable & professional.
  • The registration process of getting a ticket to go to the Genius Bar is great. You give your name, your email and cell number and they text you when they are ready to see you.
  • The CSR used the MacBook Pro and checked it externally and advised they could do nothing for me. They no longer service machines from 2012 to 2015. No parts. No service.
  • The CSR referred me to Canada Computers in Waterloo and said they should be able to help me out.

So off I went to find an alternative solution to my MacBook Pro trackpad problem

Off I went down the road to Canada Computers in Waterloo. I arrived and parked, took the MacBook Pro with me into the store and waited at the Service Desk to be attended to. When I got there, I was 3rd in line,  I was told by the service tech that they do NOT service Apple products. The ONLY thing they do is replace hard drives and RAM. That is it. So that was no help at all, and they could not even recommend anyone to me. So much for the Apple Store knowing who actually does service need MacBook owners in the city. I was left out in the cold.

Here I am, in the Mecca of the Canadian Computer Universe and…

A look inside the Tannery in Kitchener, Ont., on July 14. (Tim Fraser for The Globe and Mail)

Here I am, I live in the “Silicon Valley North” in Canada, the HUB of the “digital world” in this fine country, and NO ONE in Waterloo can tell me where I can get a five year old MacBook Pro serviced? Isn’t that just peachy?!!

This I do know. I am almost done with Apple. Forever kind of done. If you know what I mean. Divorce, kind of done. Take whatever assets you have left, and just end the relationship kind of done. 29 year relationship with Apple. For what? It only took Tim Cook 5 years to destroy what Steve Jobs built. If anything should really make Apple product users wake up, it’s this kind of thing.

But I do know now for sure this one thing. Apple Customer Care under Tim Cook has plummeted to the sewers! I remember days where they would replace product right away or fix the problem as soon as possible. That day, like the Dodo bird is now extinct. Apple has become ordinary and pedestrian. 

All this is doing, is making me more and more reticent about ever buying a replacement MacBook Pro

I have been diligent in maintaining and upgrading what I can on my old MacBook Pro, my aging 2009 model.  All the man at the genius bar could say to me is that it is too old and I should upgrade to a newer model.

 

 

What is wrong with these people? Do they not understand people only have so much disposable income? Do they not understand that Apple’s premise in business philosophy is to get old users to upgrade to a new product every two years? Most people cannot do that. Do they not comprehend all of this is going to finally drive the diehard MacAddicts like me away from Apple for good?

I am going to run that 2009 beast into the ground

I am going to treat my 2009 MacBook Pro with the respect it deserves and pray and hope that Google does what they have talked about for years, the making of a power machine, a MacBook Pro Killer, that will rival and overtake Apple in the hardcore laptop market.

I need more than a ChromeBook

I need a real power laptop and I will NEVER EVER turn to a Microsoft OS driven laptop. So I will wait patiently on Google and be a good steward of the computer hardware I do have, and I will wait to see if Google rises to the challenge.

 

Hopefully it is sooner rather than later.

~ Samuel M. Buick

Link:

https://www.forbes.com/sites/shelbycarpenter/2017/02/10/samsungs-shiny-new-chromebook-pro-is-a-macbook-killer/#38f11fcf429a

About Sam Buick

A lover and disciple of Jesus Christ. Married to my best friend, Lori-Anne. Father to 3 incredible daughters, Carragh, Caitlin and Erinn, and sons-in-law Alex, and Stephen Davis. An avid reader, a Droid user, a Mac addict, a lover of footy ball and football (there is a difference), and hockey. Once a soldier. Once a youth worker. Once an ordained minister. Once a claims adjuster. Once a charismatic, now a cessationist. Once a just war advocate, now a pacifist. A disciple of Christ, 5 point classical Calvinist. There is only one way to God, and that is through Jesus Christ alone.
This entry was posted in Personal, Technology and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

