Love Is All That Matters


aqxfqklmyytahetleifd

It is a new year.

make-it-happenThe only “resolution” that beats in my heart is a renewed focus on “love” and living in a place where “love” and my “heart” directs, discerns moves me in the direction I need to go daily, moment by moment.

selfieIt has been an incredible journey the last couple of years. Moving from cancer surgery in the fall of 2015, to radiation treatments in the beginning of 2016, up to now, a year of moving into greater awareness and healing in every area of my life. I yearn to live in an atmosphere of love and acceptance, embracing all that is set before me, and engaging in a mindset of love and gratitude and generosity and benevolence.

The power of film in telling a story

hollarsYesterday I watched an incredible film [The Hollars] with my beloved Lori-Anne.  It was one of those that just drew you in by the simple description. It is a film about a family dealing with difficult relationship issues, as well as traumatic and dramatic life events. Perhaps that is what draws us to these kinds of stories. Like all stories, they are filled life, filled with a sense of truth that captures our hearts and minds and draws us into the narrative. This film did that for me. It drew me in, and it was such a wonderful film that left me inspired. Lori-Anne and I have spoken of it often over the last half a day. It is one of those that will keep speaking to me over the weeks and months from now. It was and is one of those kinds of impactful films.

In that film, the soundtrack included a wonderful song by the Indigo Girls, Closer To Fine. It is an exquisite song that encapsulates life and living in the moment, and how often our drivenness to find exacting and precise answers only complicates living, and makes it for an awkward existence and tension in trying to live fully in the moment, in spite of a lack of exact answers, and in spite of the lack of certainty we find in our own lives and living in this world and society of which we are but a part.

CLOSER TO FINE [lyrics]

I’m trying to tell you something about my life
Maybe give me insight between black and white
The best thing you’ve ever done for me
Is to help me take my life less seriously, it’s only life after all
Well darkness has a hunger that’s insatiable
And lightness has a call that’s hard to hear
I wrap my fear around me like a blanket
I sailed my ship of safety till I sank it, I’m crawling on your shore.

I went to the doctor, I went to the mountains
I looked to the children, I drank from the fountain
There’s more than one answer to these questions
pointing me in crooked line
The less I seek my source for some definitive
The closer I am to fine.

I went to see the doctor of philosophy
With a poster of Rasputin and a beard down to his knee
He never did marry or see a B-grade movie
He graded my performance, he said he could see through me
I spent four years prostrate to the higher mind, got my paper
And I was free.

I went to the doctor, I went to the mountains
I looked to the children, I drank from the fountain
There’s more than one answer to these questions
pointing me in crooked line
The less I seek my source for some definitive
The closer I am to fine.

I stopped by the bar at 3 a.m.
To seek solace in a bottle or possibly a friend
I woke up with a headache like my head against a board
Twice as cloudy as I’d been the night before
I went in seeking clarity.

I went to the doctor, I went to the mountains
I looked to the children, I drank from the fountain
There’s more than one answer to these questions
pointing me in crooked line
The less I seek my source for some definitive
The closer I am to fine.

I went to the doctor, I went to the mountains
I looked to the children, I drank from the fountain
There’s more than one answer to these questions
pointing me in crooked line
The less I seek my source for some definitive
The closer I am to fine.

We go to the bible, we go through the workout
We read up on revival and we stand up for the lookout
There’s more than one answer to these questions
pointing me in a crooked line
The less I seek my source for some definitive
The closer I am to fine
The closer I am to fine
The closer I am to fine

There is much truth to these lyrics

forgetLife is indeed a journey and one of the misfortunes of organized religion, is that it has attempted to provide certainty and absolutes as definitive of what our life’s journey ought to be. Life is filled with only one certainty. That certainty is we will all physically die. The only absolute there is, is that once conception begins in the womb of a woman, that journey leads to birth, to life, or death, but eventually all who are eventually born, will in fact eventually die. We were born to die, and the sooner we embrace that reality, we will be truly free to live.  I went through this process over the last year and a half. When I was diagnosed with cancer, I realized what I already in my head I already knew. I know from having lived and having been a part of a family and having experienced “life” that part of life is dying and death. I realized in my diagnosis that as I processed the shock of the diagnosis that I was alive, but not fully alive. I was living, but not really living. I was functioning but not fully embracing the beauty and grace of each moment of each day. I had taken life for granted. I had known for a long time that each one of us will face death, but I had denied myself the awareness of that reality that really can awaken us to become more fully aware and fully alive. The reality hit me that I really wanted to live and that I was not ready to die.  Only in that moment of enlightenment, knowing the possibility of death, did I become free to live.

The only certainty outside of ourselves is that God is

godbiggerGod always has been. God always will be. The Bible uses the words to define God by name as “I am.” We are all image bearers of the Great I Am.  The perfection of the Incarnation, which we celebrate each Christmas, reveals the name of God, “Immanuel” as “God with us.” While we are image bearers of God and God is the source of life, ironically, God through the Incarnation, came to our own level, and became like us. God in Jesus, became one with us. The Divine took on a form of humanity, perfectly divine and human.

jesusIf the life of Jesus illustrates anything for humanity, of which I am certain, even the most ardent atheist will agree, in his earthly life, Jesus demonstrated the profundity and the impactful way of love and how it transforms life and relationships. In the end, the Beatles got it right. All any of us need is love. Where there is great love, you will find God revealing and expressing Himself.

So today as you ponder 2017, express gratitude

deppHowever difficult it may be to do so for 2016, I encourage you to really embrace express gratitude and intentionally build a life focused on love. Each day try to immerse and express love. Love is all that matters. Loving God. Loving others. Loving ourselves. Love is all that matters. Love motivates actions that redeem, restore, revitalize, respects and honours others and the self. Love is all that remains. It is not how well you have lived that matters, but how well you have loved. Love reigns. Love rules. Love heals. Love makes life and living better. Love is the glue that binds our hearts to those that matter. How well have you loved today?

Peace & grace.

~ Samuel M Buick

About Sam Buick

A lover and disciple of Jesus Christ. Married to my best friend, Lori-Anne. Father to 3 incredible daughters, Carragh, Caitlin and Erinn, and sons-in-law Alex, and Stephen Davis. An avid reader, a Droid user, a Mac addict, a lover of footy ball and football (there is a difference), and hockey. Once a soldier. Once a youth worker. Once an ordained minister. Once a claims adjuster. Once a charismatic, now a cessationist. Once a just war advocate, now a pacifist. A disciple of Christ, 5 point classical Calvinist. There is only one way to God, and that is through Jesus Christ alone.
This entry was posted in Mystical, Personal, Philosophy and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

