All Is Well And Shall Be Well


Hearing God for this day

profilepicI was thinking over the last several days about what the Lord would have for me and for others, as we come together to celebrate and worship together.

A life of worship with moments of celebration & contemplation

0e1251127_calltoworshipwebWe often are called to worship in various forms and ways.  This invitation was given, and we were called both in a public worship gathering, and through the communication of email, where the members received an email about our monthly worship night, a specific night in the month, where we all come together and worship God for several hours, through singing, through readings, through prophetic words and dreams, and through the reading of Scripture.

Pondering and reflection on the importance of living in the moment

NewsLarge_emailSo this week I again saw the email and I pondered. Yes, I wanted to come out. But I hesitated about any kind of contribution.  This morning I thought of the words of Julian of Norwich (1342-1416), who penned the words “All shall be well, and all manner of thing shall be well.” This is the sense I have in this moment in space and time. I cannot speak for others, but only for myself. As I embrace a walk of peace and confront my own ego, and my own self-centredness to life, and my desire for things to be a certain way, I am confronted with the challenge and desire to be still being stronger than my desire for things to be a certain way.

Choosing how to live moment by moment

love-julianAll of us ultimately are faced with choices, and these choices befall us all day long, and sometimes they come as an avalanche and we can hardly hold our breath at the rapidity of events and actions unfolding, and how we must respond to these as they occur. It can at times be overbearing and overwhelming, until at least we learn to slow it all down into moments, and stay engaged in the moment.

slowdownAthletes will often speak of how the “game has slowed down” for them, especially when they move from a junior league, college or university sport, to the professional sporting ranks,  Some of these athletes are almost overwhelmed by the sheer speed of the game, be it hockey or football. There seems to be so much going on and it is difficult to take it all in, and focus on the moment and do your job at the same time. This is edge and timing than an athlete can only develop by playing the game. The game slows down for you and becomes second nature when you play it with intensity, desire, and a focus to be the best you can be. The competition against another athlete who is doing the same thing opposite you only makes you better as you are challenged to be the best that you can be.

quote-Jenna-Ushkowitz-live-in-the-moment-day-by-day-165288In spiritual life, we can only do this “slowing down” of life around us, by not rushing through our activities and actions, but by slowing all of it down, and embracing and engaging in the moments of our day. As I pondered this week, and the words of that email, I was thinking about how much life has slowed down for me over the last year, and how I am now less prone to rush through moments of my day. I am more likely to slow it all down, and seek out God in the moment and what He is doing and is saying.

I am convinced that all will be well and all shall be well

allshallbewellOn the bus this morning I looked at the bright sky on this crisp cool spring day and thought of the well know words of Julian of Norwich.

“All shall be well, and all shall be well and all manner of thing shall be well.”  ~ Julian of Norwich

Lady-Julian-Of-Norwich-009Julian of Norwich was an English Christian mystic, and in her Revelations of Divine Love, which were written around 1395, she wrote an extensive recollection of revelations and encounters she received from God over twenty years prior in 1373.  She spoke of these deep spiritual encounters with the love of God and Christ and his sufferings. This line from this masterful work, “All shall be well, and all shall be well and all manner of thing shall be well,” is the one line than many people have heard and remember.

all_shall_be_well_by_zephyrofgod-d7used1I have this sense in this moment, in my spirit that “all will be well, and that in all manner of things, all shall indeed be well.” This keeps bathing and washing over me and soothing me and centering me in the peace that only God can give. No matter what I am facing today, “all will be well”.  God is not surprised by anything. He cannot be ambushed or taking off guard. God knows all things, and He is with me in all circumstances. Nothing will befall me that will do harm to my soul, or to my spirit. God is with me in the midst of all the waves of the sea upon which I have set my sail to traverse. No tide too high! No wave too strong! No storm to rage and conquer me. God is my captain, and He calms the storm and inner tossed heart affected by the storms of life. “All will be well and all will be well.”  I can have confidence that indeed “all will be well.”

ariseshineISAIAH 60 [ESV]

1Arise, shine, for your light has come,
    and the glory of the Lord has risen upon you.
For behold, darkness shall cover the earth,
    and thick darkness the peoples;
but the Lord will arise upon you,
    and his glory will be seen upon you.

all_shall_be_well_largeSo indeed today, I sense that “all will be well.” I sense for many who are dealing with the strains of life, the disappointments of unanswered prayers, of broken dreams and forlorn hopes and failed expectations, this is the word, the rhema of God for us all today, in this very moment, in this time, and in this space, to embrace God fully, and to rest in the words of hope, that with God, “all will be well.”

My fervent hope

encounterMy fervent hope and prayer is that many will be awakened to a deeper awareness of God in them, the Hope of Glory.  I pray that people will be awakened to the good that is in their lives, and the goodness of God that flows as a refreshing stream around and about them. I pray that God will indeed, renew and strengthen those things which were begun in good faith, and that they will expand and grow into their full stature of what God has always intended for them to become. I pray for the eyes of our hearts to see the fullness of the glory of God, the brilliance of the Lord Jesus, and the amazing love and grace of God that continues to express itself in the minutest details of life, to the grandest moments and thrills of life, to the most trying and difficult seasons of life.  God is present in our midst, individually and corporately. God is present and constant and will never leave us or forsake us.  The question remains, are we present in the moment with Him, or are we distant, aloof and cannot engage with Him in this moment of time and space? Our challenge, and my challenge is to embrace this moment. I need to embrace God in this moment. He has always been there for me. I just need to embrace Him and this very moment of grace and life that is before me. I cannot embrace yesterday. I cannot embrace tomorrow. I can only embrace the “now moment”.  Won’t you embrace this “now moment”? Love Divine and Love Excelling stands before us, the Christlike God stands before us. He is our Abba. Jesus our elder brother standing here with us now, saying to each of us, “All shall be well, and all shall be well and all manner of thing shall be well.”

Ephesians 5 AwakenEPHESIANS 5 [ESV]

13 But when anything is exposed by the light, it becomes visible, 14 for anything that becomes visible is light. Therefore it says,

“Awake, O sleeper,
    and arise from the dead,
and Christ will shine on you.”

givethanks

Jason Upton: Whisper

Peace.

~ Sam Buick

 

 

LINKS:

https://www.christianhistoryinstitute.org/incontext/article/julian/

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Julian_of_Norwich

http://www.umilta.net/barsotti.html

http://justus.anglican.org/resources/bio/154.html

https://en.wikiquote.org/wiki/Julian_of_Norwich

http://www.theguardian.com/books/2015/may/05/revelations-of-divine-love-julian-of-norwich-review-religious-visions

http://www.ccel.org/ccel/julian/revelations.xiv.i.html

 

 

About Sam Buick

A lover and disciple of Jesus Christ. Married to my best friend, Lori-Anne. Father to 3 incredible daughters, Carragh, Caitlin and Erinn, and sons-in-law Alex, and Stephen Davis. An avid reader, a Droid user, a Mac addict, a lover of footy ball and football (there is a difference), and hockey. Once a soldier. Once a youth worker. Once an ordained minister. Once a claims adjuster. Once a charismatic, now a pacifist. A disciple of Christ, Gospel of grace proclaimer, pursuing union with Christ. There is only one way to God, and that is through Jesus Christ. Jesus unites, dogma divides.
This entry was posted in Bible, Mystical, Personal, Prophetic and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

