Day 1 After The Surgery


thank-you-picture-thank-you-quotesBefore anything else, I want to express my thanks for all the encouraging words, thoughts, support and prayers I have received via the blog, Facebook and Twitter and email.  Thank you for all your wonderful expressions of love and support.

thankugodI really had a great sleep last night. God has been so gracious to me and the support of my wonderful wife Lori Buick has been nothing short of incredible. We have grown closer through this journey, spiritually and emotionally. Our love for the Lord and each other has grown. It is truly amazing.

jpdrainToday the CCAC nurse showed up for my first home visit to check the Jackson-Pratt Drain (also called a JP Drain) which  is a closed-suction medical device that is commonly used as a post-operative drain for collecting bodily fluids from surgical sites. The device consists of an internal drain connected to a grenade-shaped bulb via plastic tubing.  Lori’s face lit up when she saw my chest. She said that it was beautiful. I hesitated to look, but both Lori and the nurse said it was beautiful work done by the surgeon, Dr. Husien. He is a gentle and very kind physician. He really took care of me. I am so thankful for the medical care I received.

So I am thankful that I am in recovery and starting to heal up. I just wanted you to see what I was carrying and what I now look like. Nothing squeamish about them. You will notice the picture on the left. and it was actually ten days before the surgery, and the growth of the mass was so large and heavy that I needed a tensor bandage to help support the weight of it. The photo on the right is me today. It was a superb work of surgery.

Rejoice with me. I am so thankful for all your support and encouragement. I just have to share my joy and gratitude. I am following the protocol with plenty of rest.

Peace.

~ Sam

About Sam Buick

A lover and disciple of Jesus Christ. Married to my best friend, Lori-Anne. Father to 3 incredible daughters, Carragh, Caitlin and Erinn, and sons-in-law Alex, and Stephen Davis. An avid reader, a Droid user, a Mac addict, a lover of footy ball and football (there is a difference), and hockey. Once a soldier. Once a youth worker. Once an ordained minister. Once a claims adjuster. Once a charismatic, now a cessationist. Once a just war advocate, now a pacifist. A disciple of Christ, 5 point classical Calvinist. There is only one way to God, and that is through Jesus Christ alone.
This entry was posted in Personal and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Day 1 After The Surgery

  1. Brian rees says:

    Sam I am glad to hear that you are doing well. Just wishing you well from a fellow Hasty Pee Bravo Company. Brian Rees

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

