God is Faithful – I am Home from Surgery


I am home now. Thank you for your prayers and support.

samhomeI am home. I got home at 8:27 pm.  There is no feeling like being home. Surgery was booked for 1:30 pm. There were delays. By the time they took me to the OR, it was just before 3 pm. It was 3:30 pm when the operation began. I woke up in ICU at 4:45 pm. The surgeon said the surgery went very well. I have a follow up with him in 3-4 weeks. They will have a biopsy done on the tissue removed. I praying the the tissue mass is clear as whatever they find will determine if there is follow up radiation/chemo. Lori and I are praying for a supernatural breakthrough that will make for no need of radiation or chemo. Please pray along with us.

samaoktogoAt 6 pm I was moved from ICU to Recovery and reconnected with Lori Buick. She joined me in the Day Surgery Recovery ward. I remained there until 8 pm. Lori and I were coached on the protocol to follow the next 24 hours and moving forward, including pain management, things to look out for, and exercises to do for recovery. I have a JP bulb that needs to be drained as it fills up with blood from the dressing. That will go on for several days. Lori drove to the pharmacy to pick up my pain meds and stool softener.

We got home and Lori served me home made soup, dark rye toast, mozerella cheese, and home made apple sauce. There is no feeling like being home. And, I am home.

A big thank you to my Facebook family and friends

sam2thumbsupcI want to express my heartfelt thanks to all of my family and friends who kept sending me messages of encouragement, support, and prayers. I have been overwhelmed through your kindness and goodness to me. Thank you especially for your prayers.

sam2thumbsupThroughout this journey, and especially the last couple of days, I have felt the presence of God strongly in every facet of this journey and experience. Today I had that peace that only God can give. I was calm and serene. I just knew that I knew that everything would be all right.

A spiritual shift

samloriselfie1I also know that there is a spiritual shift that has taken place for me, and that things are about to change, and for me that is significant. I shied away from that in the past, but now is the time to fully be about what the Lord wants to do in my life and through my life, and like those who have had those same kinds of encounters with the Lord, my resolve today was, “I’ll say yes Lord yes”. So whatever it looks like and wherever it takes me, I am in it 100%. I can’t wait to see what God does in the days ahead.

So thank you all for praying, because your prayers were more than prayers for healing and recovery. They were prayers that brought about a recommissioning of my call from God. Things will never be the same. Thank you for your continued prayers.

The next six weeks are focused on recovery and healing

romans818So I am in recovery mode for the next six weeks. I am to remain at home recuperating and healing up. I have a follow up with the surgeon in three to four weeks. They will discuss what to do after the biopsy of the tissue.  I have now six weeks where I believe much will take place in my body and in my spirit. I will keep you posted on what develops.

For now, thank you for your prayers, your support and encouragement. YOU have all made a difference in my life. I am forever thankful.

Peace.

~ Sam

About Sam Buick

A lover and disciple of Jesus Christ. Married to my best friend, Lori-Anne. Father to 3 incredible daughters, Carragh, Caitlin and Erinn, and sons-in-law Alex, and Stephen Davis. An avid reader, a Droid user, a Mac addict, a lover of footy ball and football (there is a difference), and hockey. Once a soldier. Once a youth worker. Once an ordained minister. Once a claims adjuster. Once a charismatic, now a cessationist. Once a just war advocate, now a pacifist. A disciple of Christ, 5 point classical Calvinist. There is only one way to God, and that is through Jesus Christ alone.
This entry was posted in Ministry, Personal. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

