God is Able ~ Jesus is With Me And Has Overcome The world


I have had 3 blog posts this month and the month is 2/3 over.  It seems like I am being deliberately lazy, but I am not. I just had a sponge bath, and I face the biggest challenge of my life at 1:30 pm today. I am remarkably calm and at peace.  I went to bed last night, after catching up with a couple of episodes of several TV series I like to follow. I wanted to get all caught up. I completed watching Wolf Hall the BBC program about Thomas Cromwell and Henry VIII.  I settled down to sleep around 12:10 am this morning.

Lori and I went to the park yesterday, Waterloo Park. We were the only car in the car park.  We sat with the windows down and enjoyed the fresh air at 9 am in the morning.  We did not talk much. We held hands. We just enjoyed the moment. We saw some young parents and their children arrive in the park.  Each person doing their own thing their own way. It was beautiful to see and take in.  We walked a bit and went and sat at a picnic table and I took a few selfies.  It’s just what I do.

This morning I go for my last dressing change before surgery. It’s kind of weird. Finally after all these eight months, this mass is being removed. I am very thankful.  I have never been in a position like this. I have never faced serious surgery. I have confidence in my surgeons and I have complete trust and dependence on Jesus Christ my Lord. He has been with me throughout this journey and journeys with me still.

As I sat in the tub I began to pray:

“Lord Jesus I thank you for my life, and that you know the beginning, the middle and the end, and that you are with me each moment of my life. You are with me in this moment.

“Lord Jesus I place my life into your hands, and in your care.  I ask you to guide the physicians and the medical staff who are taking care of me today as well as all the others facing surgery today.  I ask your Holy Spirit to guide, to comfort, and to protect the lives of all of us facing surgery today.  You are the Lord of life, and You have promised to be with us. I stand on your word and on your provision of healing and wholeness.  You use physicians and you do the supernatural, and you combine the two.  In the end you alone receive the glory and the honour and the praise.

“I ask you Lord Jesus to be with my wife Lori, my children Caitlin, Erinn, Alex and Stephen.  I ask you to remove all and any anxiety and care from them, and give them peace.  You have promised to be a source of life and comfort all the days of our lives, and to take care of us.  Please take care of my family and loved ones today.  They really need you.

“I ask you to be with my church and work families today.  They have offered so much care and support to me in this journey.  Be with them as well as they deal with the issues that usually arise with the tensions of surgery.  Be a comfort and strength to them. They need you today.

“I ask you Lord to be with my surgeons especially. I ask for your grace and insight and that their hands will be steady and alert. I ask you to bless their skills and talents and that they will be refreshed and strong for this day.  Bless them abundantly today.

“Lord Jesus, I love you, and I put my trust and my life in your hands.  Deliver me this day from this demonic tumor that is being removed. Heal up my body quickly.  Only remove what is necessary.  Let the tissue biopsy reveal that the cancer is benign.  Let it all be well. Your word is my source of strength and comfort.  In you alone will I trust.

“Whether in this life or the next.  I shall you all you  on the other side.”

In the name of Jesus Christ, and the power of His resurrection, amen and amen.

Peace.

~ Sam

About Sam Buick

A lover and disciple of Jesus Christ. Married to my best friend, Lori-Anne. Father to 3 incredible daughters, Carragh, Caitlin and Erinn, and sons-in-law Alex, and Stephen Davis. An avid reader, a Droid user, a Mac addict, a lover of footy ball and football (there is a difference), and hockey. Once a soldier. Once a youth worker. Once an ordained minister. Once a claims adjuster. Once a charismatic, now a cessationist. Once a just war advocate, now a pacifist. A disciple of Christ, 5 point classical Calvinist. There is only one way to God, and that is through Jesus Christ alone.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

