One Way Or Another, It Is Either A Miracle Or I Am Facing Surgery


godstillheals

Jesus was confronted by the disciples of John concerning his life and ministry.  In Matthew 11 [The Message] we read:

2-3 John, meanwhile, had been locked up in prison. When he got wind of what Jesus was doing, he sent his own disciples to ask, “Are you the One we’ve been expecting, or are we still waiting?”

4-6 Jesus told them, “Go back and tell John what’s going on:

The blind see,
The lame walk,
Lepers are cleansed,
The deaf hear,
The dead are raised,
The wretched of the earth learn that God is on their side.

“Is this what you were expecting? Then count yourselves most blessed!”

The writer of Hebrews (which I believe to be Saul of Tarsus) says in Hebrews  13 [The Messgage]:

8 For Jesus doesn’t change—yesterday, today, tomorrow, he’s always totally himself.

donotbetroubledJesus DOES NOT CHANGE.  Jesus still heals today, and still raises the dead, and still performs miracles, through the ministry of those who are His disciples and followers. The same power that flowed in the earthly ministry of Jesus, flows in every believer of Jesus Christ. He is Lord! He is Saviour! He is Deliverer! He is Healer! He is the Miracle Worker! Jesus does not change!

Looks that surgery is coming sooner rather than later

jesusphysicianWhen I went to Princess Margaret’s for the consultation with Dr. Catton, I knew then that I was definitely facing surgery (unless an outright miracle occurred).  He had told me that day, 26 October, that he would be calling my surgeon here in Kitchener Waterloo, to discuss his understanding of the case.  He had advised that by his knowledge that this appeared to be a soft tissue sarcoma.  He would review the CT scans and discuss the case with my surgeon.  I was content and at peace with it.

jesus-doctor-healingAll week long I was waiting to hear some news and I was willing to go to Princess Margaret if need be.  I was at peace with all of it and I know in my heart that God is sovereign and in control, and to be true to my confession, I just need to live a life that is worry free and cast any care I have upon Jesus who is more than willing to take that from me.  Besides He has some pretty big shoulders and knows a thing or two about carrying burdens.

rom5_1_2I  got a phone call at 10:30 am  this morning from the surgeon’s office. I have an appointment with him on Tuesday 3 November at 12 noon, here in Kitchener.  My surgeon has been in consultation with the physician in Toronto.  It is an appointment to discuss surgery.  So we are moving in a particular direction now.   I am still praying for the Lord to remove this tumor off my chest supernaturally. I am believing for that kind of radical grace.  ALL things are possible with God.   God also uses physicians and I am OK with that too.

I still believe in miracles, and I am believing for one now

jesushealscancerI have found that in my heart of hearts, I still very much believe in miracles.  I know Jesus does miraculous things, things that are inexplicable to the natural mind.  I am fully engaged and praying and seeking a miracle, and so should anyone in that kind of situation. I have been blessed in this part of my life journey, to have extremely great supports in place for me.  I have a strong spiritual community at River of Life.  They have truly demonstrated love, support, grace and care, in coming alongside Lori and myself at this time. They have been embracing from the get go. They just love on people, and I am one of those people who continues to be loved and loved some more. We are part of this wonderful, gentle, dynamic community, which truly loves God, and loves people. This community is very important in my life, and I hope to contribute more to the community as we both go through this healing journey.

Jesus Standing-117I have a strong, loving and caring family.  My wife Lori has been remarkable, and not that she wasn’t before, but she truly is a remarkable person.  As much as I am going through changes, I also see changes in Lori.  The hard protective shell that helped guard her heart from being hurt is melting away.  She is learning to trust others again, and has an even great trust in God.  I see a love and compassion in her, that has been there a long time, but now it has become seasoned and enriched through the refining fire of God, as she has persevered through her own journey of faith, and suffering. She has grown strong and she has shown herself to be embracing of what God has for her.  She has pressed into God and the inward journey of the Kingdom of God, and has found peace and joy in the Holy Spirit, and a willingness to yes to God without reservation.  She has been resolute in her love for me and our girls.  They have rallied around me, Caitlin, Stephen, Erinn and Alex, each one has been so supportive and a real encouragement to me.  My extended family on Lori’s side has been so supportive, Becky, Ally and Melissa have each been an encouragement and source of love and strength to me.  Rob and Tracy and Olivia have been there, and will come to my rescue at any time.  They all text and phone me just to say hi and to show they care.  My mother-in-law, Joyce has been an incredible source of comfort and encouragement.  She really does love me and I love her.  She calls, or uses Facebook to stay in touch.  She reads my blog.  Now that is something! My family is so supportive and so loving.  You truly find out who you are and what you have, when you face a battle like this one. It is so awesome to have this kind of family support.

hopeinchristI have strong support at my work place.  I still find it so amazing to have my branch and department rallying around me the way that they are.  They are constantly there for anything I may need.  They send me encouraging emails and are there, present in the moment. All I can say, is that I am truly thankful for the place where I work, Crawford Contractor Connections.  It is an amazing team of people.  This week I decided to send out an email to our team to put them in the loop as far as my health situation is concerned and to put them at ease when hanging around me.  It seems to have worked.  The team is very supportive and I appreciate their support.

While I believe in miracles and I am praying for one, I also know that Jesus uses the medical establishment

jesus-and-surgeon-painting-12I am thankful the medical establishment and services that area available to us here in Canada.  I would not be dismissive of the medical system, our physicians and surgeons that we have, who day in and day out attempt to provide the best possible health care to all of us. Even when medical science is an imperfect science, that same science does in fact save lives. So while I am truly desiring a supernatural miracle, I do know that surgery may be the option that will be manifested to me and I am willing to embrace that.

A testimony of God’s grace and the healing received through radiation

I was encouraged by the situation faced by Rod Parsley, who is battling throat cancer.  Here is what he had to say on his Facebook page today:

Rod-Parsley-hospital“I just fought the greatest battle of my life. The enemy attacked my vocal cord with cancer, but God Almighty has given me victory! I want to share how I received God’s miraculous healing touch on a very special episode Breakthrough that you can watch here.” [see below].

Jennifer LeClaire interviewed Rod Parsley and Charisma News published the interview on 21 October. You can read it here.

he-can-orangeParsley discovered the cancer back in May 2015, when a physician said he had cancer.  He was diagnosed with a squamous cell carcinoma, and it got treated through radiation rather than surgery. Parsley spoke of the dark place he was in and the warring against how  the enemy uses these situations to undermine our faith and attempt to take us out. Parsley’s treatments lasted for 28 days.

I quote from the Charisma News article, because this is so important for people to read, see, and really apprehend.  These words are from a dynamic Charismatic leader.

When God heals, there’s no sorrow … when He heals just by divine impartation. But thank God He uses doctors and nurses and wisdom and hospitals, and thank God for that. If I had my choice, I’d just take that immediate miraculous healing. Even when God uses the mechanisms of this world for healing, and all healing comes from God. Every good and perfect gift comes down from the Father of lights from whom there is no variableness or shadow or turning. If it’s good, it came from God. The thief came to kill—and sickness is limited to death. The thief came to kill, steal and destroy, but Jesus said “I came so that you may have life and that you might have it more abundantly.” So when others are involved, there is some sorrow related to it.” ~ Rod Parsley

hecanhealcancerI found this to be very important in understanding that God receives the glory for all the good that comes into our lives, even the good that comes through the hands of others, especially through fields of expertise that are usually dismissive about the supernatural or spiritual.  So, in this instance, I appreciated the comments in regard to thank God and praising God for both the supernatural and medical science.

I also appreciated Parsley’s comments in regards to praying against the side effects of drugs and invasive and destructive therapies, like radiation, chemotherapy or other drugs.  He goes on to say:

What you learn to do is to stand against side effects. For instance, God made the heavens and the earth and the Bible says he divided the light from the darkness. I used that, laid there on that cold, steel table, bolted down, immovable with a huge machine running around my head.

I said, “What’s the worst that can happen with radiation?” If a mistake is made, we could fry your voice box and you could never be able to speak again, so you lay there, and you say, “God, You divided light from the darkness, the day from the night, You directed David’s stone out of his slingshot. Now, I ask that you to direct this radiation. If there are cancer cells in my body, let it attack the cancer cells and let there be no side effect left in my body.

Whatever medication I take, I stand against any side effects. I say, “This medication will do exactly what God and my doctors purpose it to do, and will harm me in no way.” The Bible says, Mark 16—and I’ve stood on this, “If they drink any deadly thing, it shall not harm them,” meaning whatever comes in to my body to help bring healing will not harm me, for I’m a child of God. ~ Rod Parsley

godwilldeliverI concur and agree with Rod Parsley.  Lori and I have prayed in this way going back to 1986 when Carragh was diagnosed with A.L.L. Leukemia.  I have taken the same tack whenever I have had to take meds that have side effects.  I am of the same mind in my current battle.  I will pray that the Lord will guide the hands of the surgeon, and all of the medical team involved.  I will pray that when they read X-Rays, CT scans, and ultrasounds, that they read exactly what the Lord wants them to know.  I will pray for no ill effects or side effects from any and all drugs used during the surgery.  I will pray that if radiation is necessary, that the Lord will guide and direct with pinpoint accuracy where the radiation is aimed to destroy only the cancer cells, and have no ill effects to the rest of my body.  Yes, the blood of Jesus is that effective!  I am in total agreement with Rod Parsley on this.

I am so thankful this is moving forward

Jesus Standing-117Now if Jesus does this miracle in a very profound supernatural way, I am really cool with that.  If I go through surgery and radiation, I am really cool with that too.  In all situations, I thank my God, and give Him praise, and my praise shall continually be in my mouth.  Whether I live or die, my life is in His hands and in the hands of no other.  I have absolute trust in Jesus Christ. I have been given much grace and much love and supernatural strength in dealing with this, especially since the surgical incision back at the end of the first week of August.  I am good with this. I am in a good place. I want so much to pray for people and lay hands on them, so that they can be delivered and set free, healed and restored, and experience miracles and signs and wonders.  I will lay hands in faith, the sick will recover. Jesus resides in my body and I am His hands and His feet.  Where He leads I will follow.  ALL believers who profess and confess Jesus Christ as Lord, have the SAME power within them that raised Jesus from the dead.  We can, and we ought to do the same works of Jesus, and see the Kingdom of Heaven manifest on the earth!

Peace.

~ Sam

LINKS:

http://www.charismanews.com/us/52753-battling-throat-cancer-rod-parsley-shares-the-battle-against-his-mind

https://www.rodparsley.com/walking-miracle

About Sam Buick

A lover and disciple of Jesus Christ. Married to my best friend, Lori-Anne. Father to 3 incredible daughters, Carragh, Caitlin and Erinn, and sons-in-law Alex, and Stephen Davis. An avid reader, a Droid user, a Mac addict, a lover of footy ball and football (there is a difference), and hockey. Once a soldier. Once a youth worker. Once an ordained minister. Once a claims adjuster. Once a charismatic, now a pacifist. A disciple of Christ, Gospel of grace proclaimer, pursuing union with Christ. There is only one way to God, and that is through Jesus Christ. Jesus unites, dogma divides.
This entry was posted in Bible, Kingdom of God, Ministry, Personal, Theology and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

