Sam’s Health Update: Relying On Prayer, Divine Healing and The Role of Medicine



The power of connection and relationship that advances the Kingdom of God

krysty3So on 18 October, I got a FB message from Lora Dinsmore.  I went to EBC in Kitchener with Lora back in the mid 1980’s and she married Lori’s cousin. So we are related, we are cousins.  Lora had been to my mother-in-law’s birthday celebration and was very moved when she saw me and heard me share about the battle with cancer.  On the 18th her FB message was that she had a cousin in our neighborhood that is involved in prayer and healing ministry, Emily Vandonk. So I did a FB search and found Emily and sent her a message about connecting and receiving prayer ministry.   That night, I turned off my MacBook Pro and spent time with Lori.  Meanwhile both Emily and my other friend Allen Remley were trying to call me.  Lori and I had disconnected our land line the week before.  So they could not get through to us.  Later that evening I went back on my MacBook Pro and discovered a message from Emily who had wondered about coming over that evening.  Unfortunately it was too late.  Emily was going to be attending a conference in Detroit for the upcoming week.  So would have to wait until the following Saturday.  I was amazed by all these connections to our past and how people knew each other. So I looked forward to connecting with these folks.

Pressing into the supernatural

megagrace1Last week I was facing having a CT scan, which I have never gone through before.  It went well enough and that was on Wednesday.  That same day Lori and I took off on a three day holiday, a holiday that I had been planning on since the winter last year.  I wanted to reunite with John Crowder and some others, when John was coming to the GTA area for one of his events.  This year’s theme for John’s tour was the Mega Grace Tour 2015.  So we went to the Mississauga location and participated in this wonderful two day gathering with all these old friends and new acquaintances.  I came back from that feeling really great spiritually and physically.  Different people there prayed for me and ministered to me and that was emotionally uplifting.

A call out of the blue to go to Toronto ~ will worrying really change anything?

pmcfbuildingFriday came and Lori and I just hung out and relaxed until my phone rang. I answered the cell phone and it was the surgeon’s office.  They were in the middle of coordinating a consult with a Dr. Charles Catton from Princess Margaret Hospital in Toronto.  They called to ask me to attend this consult with the doctor and to bring down copies of the CT scans.   That kind of startled Lori, more than me.  I was fine staying positive and not worrying.  One line from the new Tom Hanks movie, Bridge of Spies, English actor Mark Rylance, plays the role of Soviet spy Rudolf Abel.  In several scenes Abel is confronted by Donavan (Hanks) about the prospects of facing the death penalty, and being found guilty.  Each time Donavan asks, “Are you worried?”  Each time Abel gives the same reply, “Will worrying really change anything?”  This was how I felt around this issue with having to go to Toronto and see this doctor.  I wasn’t worried. Would my being worried change anything? Not at all. So I was fine chilling out and waiting for after the weekend and going down on Monday.  Whatever was going to be communicated could wait without any worry added on for my part.

Traveling ministry team came to the house

emilySo at 2:30 pm last Friday, Emily Vandonk, Al Remly, Peter Sommerfeld came over to the house and spent a couple of hours with Lori and I and prayed and ministered over me.  It was an amazing afternoon.  God ministered powerfully to me and I was really excited about what God was going to do in me and through me physically.

prayOn Sunday Lori and I were prayed over by the River People at River of Life.  Our home group gathered around us, laid hands, and prayed and prophesied over us.  Others from around the congregation gathered around and joined in.  The facilitator,  then asked for people who were in need of prayer across the room, and then released people to pray for them all over the room. I was approached by a woman who asked if her group could minister to Lori and I.  So after the gathering, we met with them, and shared communion together.  The Lord’s presence was so strong, and I was really encouraged.

Princess Margaret’s and Dr. Catton and a new revelation

cattonLori did something she has never done before. On Monday morning, she drove me to Toronto and back home again today. It is exhausting to drive, and she did a super job.  We met with Dr. Charles Catton at Princess Margaret Hospital at 11:30 am. He examined the growth on my right pec. He said it is one of two rare forms of cancer. It could be a soft tissue sarcoma, which would mean surgery and radiation. Or it could be a rare form of breast Cancer, which would include chemo as well as radiation and surgery. As a result  I need to have an MRI as well as a larger biopsy tissue from the external growth.

Your prayers are appreciated

Thank you for your prayers today. God’s presence was so strong today. A real awareness of God and His grace today. Thank you so much for praying.   There sure is a whole lot of Glory on Dr. Catton. You feel the presence of God when you are around him, when he speaks and touches you. The compassion this man has is from God. There is a whole lot of Glory all over him. Our appointment with him was a God send. Nothing left to chance. God is so good.

Moving forward from this point

riordanAs I look back over the last week, there was so much activity that started on 17 October when Kevin Riordan prayed for me.  From this point on so many people have prayed and continue to pray over me.  People are receiving insight that this tumor will shrivel up and die. Even at the CCAC clinic one of the nurses spoke about the power of radiation to shrivel up external tumors and her words were “shrivel up and die”, much like the charismatic prayers many of us have prayed.

So each day, I continue to put my hand on that tumor on my chest, and I curse it and command it to shrivel up and die.  I would rather it be the radiation of the Son of Righteousness that does it than nuclear medicine, but I am fine with whatever the Lord ordains should happen.  I have a strong faith and belief and conviction.  I believe that God is in the middle of all this.  I believe that there is a Kingdom explosion that will manifest through this as I go through what I need to go through.  I have no fear. I have no worry.  I refuse to be anxious.  If there is a bit of anxiety, I stop and I give it to Jesus and ask for His peace.  I shall not be shaken! I shall not be moved.

I am looking to God first for everything.   God can do this all by Himself.  He can totally eradicate the cancer from my body.  I praying for that every day.  God can also use physicians and medicine to also do what is necessary.  In my case  I am fine with God using both the supernatural and medicine and surgery. I want to be healed and made whole.  I have Kingdom living and ministry to do.  I want to serve God and His people and reach out to those in need.

On other thing I will say at this time.  I believe that anyone in any situation can minister to anyone in any situation.  Do not let your situation, your health, your own lack, hold you back from praying and releasing the Kingdom of God and His goodness in the lives of people.  You are a channel of God’s grace into the lives of people.  Be that channel and see how you reap that grace right back into your own life.  Watch and see, taste and see, how the Lord is good.

Peace.

~Sam

About Sam Buick

A lover and disciple of Jesus Christ. Married to my best friend, Lori-Anne. Father to 3 incredible daughters, Carragh, Caitlin and Erinn, and sons-in-law Alex, and Stephen Davis. An avid reader, a Droid user, a Mac addict, a lover of footy ball and football (there is a difference), and hockey. Once a soldier. Once a youth worker. Once an ordained minister. Once a claims adjuster. Once a charismatic, now a cessationist. Once a just war advocate, now a pacifist. A disciple of Christ, 5 point classical Calvinist. There is only one way to God, and that is through Jesus Christ alone.
This entry was posted in Church, Kingdom of God, Ministry, Missional, Personal, Society and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

