Health Update: CT Scan, Strong Support, And Prophetic Dream


Good Saturday to all of you and Happy Thanksgiving

I just wanted to give you all an update.  Thank you for your continued prayers and encouraging words and support.

The last four days have been like a whirlwind

ctscanHaving the diagnosis of breast cancer took all of us by surprise.  The biopsy on the lymph nodes came out clear, but the mass on my chest came out positive for male breast cancer.  I have to get a CT scan on 21 October.

Cancer Center Consultation RoomThursday next, my surgeon meets with the cancer team at Grand River Hospital for a case consultation to review the x-rays, ultrasound, biopsy, and to determine the best course moving forward, whether it is surgery first, or shrinking the mass with chemo/radiation first. I am praying for the Lord’s wisdom to be made known to the medical team handling my case.

I feel good and  my spirits are up

supportI have incredible support from my family, my workplace, and people at ROL. It is all really quite remarkable to be walking this part of my life journey.  I have never had the kind of support in place at any other time in my life when I was facing some kind of situation or crisis that required strong support.  I am truly blessed to say the very least. So the timeline for surgery will not be known until at the very least a week from now.  But I presume they will want to wait until they get the CT scan complete to make a final date for the surgery. My gut tells me it will be sometime at the end of the month.

tasteandseeI am amazed at the goodness of God and the goodness of God’s people, and the compassion of people all around that I meet. It is good to not walk this journey alone.  It is even better to walk with God as He has already been in the middle of this journey with me. Without Him, I do not know what I would do.

Today, I awoke after a really good sleep

dream1I had an encounter with the Lord in my sleep.  I was on my knees praying with my head bowed and hands open in front of me.  I remember giving thanks to God and being overcome with gratitude of His love and faithfulness and the support of my family, my workplace and the church family at ROL. I sensed a strong Presence and Light over me. I raised my head and their coming from a light that shone around Him was the Lord, and He extended His hands toward me, and touch my face with his nail scarred hands, and raised my face to gaze into my eyes.  I wept and felt the most incredible love pouring into me.  The Lord lowered Himself and knelt in front of me, and reached His arms around me and embraced me and held on tightly to me. I melted in His embrace.

Then He spoke these words to me

God-dreams“I have overcome the world, and I am calling you an overcomer. Arise My son for your Light has come upon you.  I am your rest and refuge and sanctuary.  You have found your rest in Me. Where you have been weakened, I have made you strong. Where you have been challenged, I have been your hope. Where you have been at a loss for answers, I have been your peace. The storms have raged, and you have chosen to rest with Me and not strive and not worry.

“You are indeed an overcomer. You have tasted grace and it has satisfied your heart. You have receive rest for your soul.  I am healing for your body and mind and spirit. I have been with you all along this journey. I continue to walk with you. I will carry you, even when you think you cannot go any further. I will love you even when you feel very little love and affection. I will protect you and nurture you and keep you safe.  You are mine and I am yours. I have not and nor shall I ever abandon you. I am with you. You shall continue to overcome. You will more than survive. You were born to thrive.  Hear Me, you were born to thrive. 

“Arise My son, for you are an overcomer, and you were born to thrive. Thrive and overcome is your destiny and purpose.  Walk in the grace I have given you. Freely give what I have given you.  As you go, you shall see My hand extended through your life that will touch and impact others.  You have given your life to me, and I treasure your life.  You have trusted me.

​”I have loved you with an everlasting love. Watch and see, taste and see, and know the everlasting promises that will bloom and grow in the garden of your heart. I love you. Come and let us walk this path together. Come and let us see My Kingdom prosper and grow. Come and taste the goodness of the Lord in the land of the living. Arise! Overcome! And thrive!”

Then I woke up.  Pretty awesome encounter. It really ministered to me. The Lord is so good.

Peace,

~ Sam

About Sam Buick

A lover and disciple of Jesus Christ. Married to my best friend, Lori-Anne. Father to 3 incredible daughters, Carragh, Caitlin and Erinn, and sons-in-law Alex, and Stephen Davis. An avid reader, a Droid user, a Mac addict, a lover of footy ball and football (there is a difference), and hockey. Once a soldier. Once a youth worker. Once an ordained minister. Once a claims adjuster. Once a charismatic, now a cessationist. Once a just war advocate, now a pacifist. A disciple of Christ, 5 point classical Calvinist. There is only one way to God, and that is through Jesus Christ alone.
This entry was posted in Bible, Personal, Prophetic and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

