I Have Been Set Free From iOS And Found Wireless Digital Freedom In Android


There is no perfect computer system or operating system, but there is choice

motorola-moto-g-press-renderMy wife and I just purchased two Android phones, the lower midrange as far as quality of smartphone. We bought the Motorola Moto G.  This is my first entry into Android OS and so far so good.  I like the Android interface and how easy it is to move around and accomplish various tasks. The basic phone we bought was simply for phone and texting and GPS when needed.

This Android OS is very likable and enjoyable to use and very functional

doubletwist_mac_1Yesterday I played around with it and hooked it up to my MacBook Pro, to see how it would interact with my Mac. I had downloaded three pieces of software that allows for file management with the Mac native iTunes app.  I played around with Android File Transfer, AirDroid File Sync, Double Twist, and iSyncr. All these apps read my iTunes library, my play lists, my music, my digital books.

Best-Ereader-Apps-for-AndroidThe challenge with the iBooks is using the right app in Android.  I found the best option to be Monn+ Reader.  You can upload your books to the cloud, like Google Drive or Dropbox and have access to your whole library through the app.  The one app that looks and feels much like an iOS app is Aldiko Book Reader.  However when you check that out there are issues with battery wear from its use as well issues with the developer and credit cards.  So you need to check out which offers you the best option and discern which one you want to live with.  I did find that books on the Android work just fine.  There are plenty of e-Readers in the Android world.  It was pretty seamless in adding music playlists and audio books, as well as books in my iBooks on my Mac to my Moto G phone.  I was pleasantly surprised and quite happy at the end result.

Google creates fine software for its own OS and for iOS which makes this Mac guy a happy Mac and Android user

Best-office-suite-apps-for-AndroidSince I use the Google Photo app on my Mac, the Android version of the app works very well on the Moto G, and I get access to all my photos that are linked to my Gmail account.  I found this to be a great asset since I use a lot of Google products on my Mac and now have access to them all through the Android OS. I love Google Docs and Google Drive and YouTube and each of these have been great to use in both the Mac OS and Android OS.  The apps that I use every day include an office suite, and it really does not matter which one I use as they save as MS Office docs. So the suite or Google Docs does the job just fine and with Google Drive I have access to the cloud for any docs I save, which is my regular practice anyway. I have checked out several office suites for Android and they each have their features and strengths.

Many choices in software that have their respective versions in each OS — Good for everyone

android-socialI use a diversity of chat and message apps and I am trying a couple of the more secure chat and SMS apps.  I will try them out for a while and see which ones I will keep and which ones I will simply discontinue using.  I also use the mainstream Facebook and Twitter apps as well as WordPress.  It was nice to find these to be seamlessly similar to the iOS ones I use on the iPad. It makes it a whole lot easier to work on either the iPad or the Moto G. There are other apps that have both Android and iOS versions which was good to know and download and use, including various Bible apps, antivirus apps, workflow apps, email and web browser apps. So I am a very happy camper right now. Making the switch has proven to be very easy and not intrusive or cumbersome.

I love the flexibility of choice between both iOS and Android

migrate-from-ios-to-androidAs a Mac user I was concerned about the same apps being consistent across the board, and I have to hand it to Google, they really have done a great job in this transition.  Being able to use both OS’s is great. I can easily see myself ditching the iPad in favor of an Android tablet.  I have no problem or issue with that prospect. In fact I will be looking seriously at that prospect and a very valid option to the iPad. All the iOS evangelists should just try out the Android OS for themselves.

I still love my “first love”, but there are other choices to consider

Best-Android-TabletI still love my Mac, but I have other options when it comes to tablets and smartphones, and the ecosystem propaganda is exactly that, propaganda. Time to find the truth instead of believing the propaganda. The truth will set you free. It set me free from being yoked to Apple and the Mac OS and iOS and their hardware. You can thrive in a multi-OS world with diverse hardware. It is possible. It is a good option and more affordable too.

Peace.

~ Sam

Links:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=y2F5CxvW1n8

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Y84KJk7Bvf4

About Sam Buick

A lover and disciple of Jesus Christ. Married to my best friend, Lori-Anne. Father to 3 incredible daughters, Carragh, Caitlin and Erinn, and sons-in-law Alex, and Stephen Davis. An avid reader, a Droid user, a Mac addict, a lover of footy ball and football (there is a difference), and hockey. Once a soldier. Once a youth worker. Once an ordained minister. Once a claims adjuster. Once a charismatic, now a cessationist. Once a just war advocate, now a pacifist. A disciple of Christ, 5 point classical Calvinist. There is only one way to God, and that is through Jesus Christ alone.
This entry was posted in Personal, Technology and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

