Anticipate Anything and Be Ready For a Change


sanityYesterday was one of those days, you know the kind.  You have been working up to that point where you get psyched up and all ready for whatever is coming, because you know you have to do this thing, no matter how difficult it would appear to be for you.  You know that you have prayed and sought the peace of God on it, and you have received prayer and encouragement from people the world over (another reason I love Facebook and Twitter), and you know that God heals by using both the supernatural and medical science, and in this particular instance it seems more medical science is involved.

“Common sense” appears to be more uncommon than we realize

samloriLori, my beautiful wife, herself being a nurse, checked with the general surgeon as she had the same issues as the nurses at the clinic where I get my daily dressings changed, that if I get this mammogram, it could burst the external growth and it would be a major hemorrhage which could create more difficulties in the diagnosis of the issue and any medical procedure to remedy my particular problem.  It seemed like common sense to us, that we should avoid damaging the growth just to get a better picture and by so doing might actually hamper what we are all wanting, which is a medical solution to my wound. The general surgeon was adamant that he wanted me to go ahead with the mammogram.  So Lori and I put on our brave faces, and yesterday, we went to the hospital for our 1:45 pm appointment at the radiology and nuclear medicine department.  We had peace in our hearts and I just knew that Jesus had this thing covered, and would provide me with the grace I needed when I would actually need it.  God likes to do that with us.  He not only is present in our circumstances, but He provides the grace needed at the exact time, so that we will be able to overcome and persevere through whatever that adversity might be that we are going through at that time.  That is why I love God so much. He has EVERYTHING already covered.

Embracing a deeper life of surrender and yieldedness

absolutesurrenderSo, we went to St. Mary’s hospital and submitted and yielded, knowing God had everything covered.  One way or another I would have a better idea of the direction this thing was going, and I knew that someway, somehow the concerns I had would be addressed.  I know Jesus is my advocate in heaven, and I also have a pretty good advocate in my wife Lori.  Lori in her case management work, acts as an advocate for her clients, and she is pretty amazing in performing her tasks and assignments and is so direct, supportive, and knows just the right questions to ask in a positive and assertive manner.  She blows me away.  I am so humbled and thankful that she is going through this with me. She is an incredible support. I love her dearly.  Here she was with me, and she became my advocate at the radiology clinic.  She hit it off right away with the technician, and they quickly built a great rapport and all three of us dialoged to assess what was going on and what needed to get done.

healbrokenheartThe technologist who was working with Lori and I yesterday was a Godsend. She was caring, compassionate, and explained everything, and consulted with the radiologist as she really believed this should not be done, as the growth has grown to twice the size, leaks blood and fluids and could not take the pressure applied in a mammogram.  Her name was Denise, and she is a Scot with a thick brogue and we got along famously.  As I said she put me at ease and explained everything, and even explaining the procedure I would be facing at Freeport, Friday next week. She was so encouraging to my wife as well and so very kind. It was as if she sent to us right from heaven and her words of encouragement, and comfort and strength were really amazing.

Some people are experts in one field and not in another

underGodcontrolThe technician consulted with the radiologist at St. Mary’s said they would NOT do the mammogram out of concern that doing so would create a hemorrhaging of the external tissues that would make it impossible to do the biopsy a week from Friday. So all that stress we went through, to only confirm how Lori and I felt about this process all along.  It was too risky to attempt.  Finally some common sense from the real experts in radiology and nuclear medicine.  Each field has its experts and there is a need to respect each field and their expertise and mutually understand what is best for the patient (me).  Long story short, I am now booked for the biopsy on 25 September at 9 AM at Freeport in Kitchener.  They are the experts on this kind of thing they tell me.  This should be the least invasive, an ultrasound guided biopsy

 It was as if God led us to the hospital just to have our faith built up and stirred

isaiah-41-10-hand-of-god-god-saysWhen you face something like this and you face delay after delay and appointment after appointment, you can get worn down and feel you are not getting anywhere. It was like God himself spoke words of life from her lips to us. It was an amazing thing for Lori and I to experience. It was so awesome to have this little Scot, Denise, speak and encourage us and motivate us, and reach out with such compassion and understanding. It was like a divine appointment, another reminder from God, “Hey, listen to this woman, she is speaking to you on my behalf!” And Lori and I both listened and found solace and peace and encouragement as a result.

So next Friday, 25th, 9 am is the appointment.

neverstopprayingThe schedule for work is in my favor.  I am OFF that day and work the Saturday.  There are no coincidences with God. Even your work schedule falls into line and the God of prophetic convergence brings every criteria together to make things happen at the exact time.  I marvel at how God coordinates all of this stuff. God in the details. He is a God of the details and He manifests in all the details. The question is whether or not we will awaken and become aware of His Presence in the moment with us. He is present at all times in all situations.  What a comfort to have. He is the God of peace and the God in the moment.

Our heart of thanksgiving to God and to all of you.

godrestoresA big shout out to God. Throughout the past five months God has become even more tangibly felt and experienced and known by me. It is not like I never had a deep intimacy with Him, as the last twenty five years have been an incredible awakening to the intimate love that God has for me (and for all of you).  It is just that during this season, I was reminded of what Lori and I and our family endured and persevered through, when we rallied around our first born daughter, Carragh, as she battled for her life for seven years in her struggle against ALL Leukemia. During those years God became so vibrant and real in the midst of suffering, and so tangible and knowable, in ways most people have no knowledge or comprehension about. Even in Carragh’s death, God was so present and has only increased in my awareness of Him throughout the years. God is present in the midst of suffering and His glory manifests in the hearts and lives of the broken.

close to godLori and I and our family are so thankful for the support, prayers from all the people at our fellowship, family, our friends, our small group, and my workplace. My workplace has been really incredible during this time. They have really been so supportive during this really stressful and emotional time in my life.  They have made coming to work a joy and a delight.  They people I see and work with every day are all so incredible. I am so thankful for them and for my employer and being a part of this great company. Thank you Crawford & Company.

To God alone be the glory. Great things He has done and continues to do.  So thankful. Everything is so good, even in the midst of suffering and pain.

Peace.

~ Sam

About Sam Buick

A lover and disciple of Jesus Christ. Married to my best friend, Lori-Anne. Father to 3 incredible daughters, Carragh, Caitlin and Erinn, and sons-in-law Alex, and Stephen Davis. An avid reader, a Droid user, a Mac addict, a lover of footy ball and football (there is a difference), and hockey. Once a soldier. Once a youth worker. Once an ordained minister. Once a claims adjuster. Once a charismatic, now a pacifist. A disciple of Christ, Gospel of grace proclaimer, pursuing union with Christ. There is only one way to God, and that is through Jesus Christ. Jesus unites, dogma divides.
This entry was posted in Personal and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Anticipate Anything and Be Ready For a Change

  1. Glenn Wiebe says:

    Wonderful song, that should always be our heart “Lord have your way in me”.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Sam Buick says:

      I want to live a life open to God and willing to let my own brokenness be a way and means for His grace to flow in me and through me to others..

      Like

Leave a Reply

