Love Our Wee Morgan


morgan06Lori and I were scheduled to go to an extended family reunion picnic in Owen Sound this past weekend.  Morgan, our wee wire haired Scottish Terrier, has been battling a degenerating left eye. He went and got checked out again on last Friday.  It all appeared to be going well.  He was given another cream for his eye, and we thought we were good to go on Sunday. Then Friday night came.

dogsheartDuring the night Morgan was pretty sick and kept throwing up.  We both wondered if he had eaten something that he should not have. When I let him out on Saturday morning he was suffering from very bad diarrhea. So I went for my dressing change as I am dealing with an open wound right now, and when I got home, we went to the Vet Clinic which was open. We drove to Elmira and saw the vet.  She is one gracious and kind person. She was super with Morgan and was also reassuring to Lori and I.  Morgan was given an IV for fluids and some meds and we took some meds home with us.  We decided that there was no way we were going to travel with a sick dog and be on the road for six hours.

dogWhen we got home, Lori contacted the relatives to let them all know we were going to have to excuse ourselves and focus on Morgan for the weekend.

bestfriendMorgan was pretty wiped out. He had no energy and was tired and not feeling well. When we got home, Morgan went to his water dish and just stared at it.  He stood there for 45 minutes. Standing and staring.  I called his name, and he slowly turned his head and looked at me, and then drooped his head and stared at his water bowl.  I am sure he was thinking, “The last time I drank water I just puked it up all over the place. I don’t want to puke but I want water.”  We gave his the meds that settled his stomach and the med that would prevent him from puking.  He came back an hour later and finally sipped a tiny bit of water.

morganHe remained mellow all day.  Either Lori or myself actually carried him wherever we went, whether it was to our room, or to the rec room.  He was pampered and carried.  He would just lay down beside us and hardly move. Lori and I watched a movie and he just lay there all quiet.

morgan0Saturday night he slept in our bed and was still the whole night through.  In the morning he moved only because he had to.  He peed and did his thing and immediately was back in the house.  We gave him his meds. He was quiet and sat with Lori.  I went for my dressing change again and when I got back, Morgan was still in the same spot, quietly laying there. Lori made lunch and Morgan perked up a bit.  He went to his dish and drank water, but did not eat anything.

morgan05So Lori and I decided that we would go to Waterloo Park with Morgan and see how he would handle a walk at the zoo.  He seemed to perk up as we walked together.  He was friendly with the animals as always, and especially with the pigs and the llamas.  Some little kids came along and wanted to pet him. He seemed to be fine until he got a burr on his left front paw. Lori quickly took care of that situation.

dogdevotionWe got home and we had supper together.  Morgan was actually sitting up like his show down pose and seemed to really be perky like normal. He seemed to be coming out of it.  We went to the rec room to relax and watch a movie together. He snuggled on the couch and was really chilling out quietly.  He perked up and needed to go outside to pee.  This was the most energy we had seen in him since going to the park.  When I came in with him I gave him a quarter cup of his food and he ate it up. He really seemed on his way to recovery.

dogsfaithWe brought him back to our bed last night, and he got nestled in and was all cozy and he fell asleep. He stayed there the whole night. This morning he came down with Lori and she let him out to do his business. It all went well. He came over to me when I call his name and he put his front paws on my lap and wanted attention. I gave him the little I could as I had to go out again for my dressing change.

liveWhat I realized through all this with Morgan is just how attached I am to this little guy. From taking him to the vet and interacting with the vet and with talking with Lori, all I know is how much I love this dog and how much affection and love he has for us.  This attachment is a remarkable thing.  I am just bowled over time and time again at the closeness you experience with a dog.  There is a real bond with a dog that is different from other pets. I love and cherish our wee Morgan. I am so thankful to know him and have him as part of my life and as part of our family.

I cherish my dog Morgan.  Cherish your pet, be that a dog or any other animal.

About Sam Buick

A lover and disciple of Jesus Christ. Married to my best friend, Lori-Anne. Father to 3 incredible daughters, Carragh, Caitlin and Erinn, and sons-in-law Alex, and Stephen Davis. An avid reader, a Droid user, a Mac addict, a lover of footy ball and football (there is a difference), and hockey. Once a soldier. Once a youth worker. Once an ordained minister. Once a claims adjuster. Once a charismatic, now a cessationist. Once a just war advocate, now a pacifist. A disciple of Christ, 5 point classical Calvinist. There is only one way to God, and that is through Jesus Christ alone.
This entry was posted in Personal and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

