Back From Holiday And Embracing The Moments


DCIM100SPORTHere I am today, a day after coming home from a four day camping foray, where I was totally cut off from the news and the events of life that continue unabated, whether connected or not to a news feed, or the traditional media of print media or television. I had my three books, of which I feasted on John Yoder’s The Politics of Jesus. That was a refreshing change of pace.

canada-electionNow I find myself in the midst of the uproar of the public over our Prime Minister calling an election early, and not just any election, but one that will last 11 weeks. So, being a political junkie, this election, for 19 October 2015, has been anticipated by many Canadians for some time now. The waters have been stirred, and Canadians of all stripes are actually awakening from the lethargy of the Conservative rule of PM Harper and his Tories. About time too.

man_laying_on_floor_under_pile_of_laundry_bld054633This afternoon after four loads of laundry, I am sitting in a urgent care clinic. I am accompanying a dear friend who has a infection. I am in this waiting area, with not too many chairs left unoccupied. Here it is a hot summer day in August, and there are people here, who cannot see their own GP, or who may not even have one, who have come to the clinic. I myself have used the clinic when I have not been able to get in to see my GP. They are a good and efficient operation. The physicians have been first rate each time I have had need to use their services. So, here, today, with my friend, I await the calling of the number, and my friend being seen by the physician Logo-Large500Won call. Why is it the wait is always the worst thing to deal with? Is it the wait of the unknown? Why does it feel so tauntingly long?

1mindcorrectMy thoughts wander as I ponder how quickly this past week has gone. It has been a good and necessary break from the hustle and bustle of daily life and work. Tomorrow will come soon enough. No need to focus unnecessarily on a day that has not even arrived yet. Seize the day! Carpe Diem. Notch that down further. Seize the moment! Take a hold of each moment as they happen and maximize yourself in that moment. Be in the zone for each and every moment. Don’t be distracted. Don’t look for escape from reality. Seize it as if your life depends upon it. Grab it and do not let go.

mindfulness-quotes-mother-teresaI have found it to be a surprising thing, when I first let go of my need to control, of my need to micro-manage my day, even the avoidance and procrastination of what I know needs to be done, that things come with ease, and the acceptance of the moment reality becomes the priority. When I embrace that priority, that moment, it usually releases the energy I need not only for this task but also for what will inevitably will come next.

mindfulness-quotes-Mindfulness-is-simply-being-aware-We cannot race from one moment to the next, but when multiple moments coincide and come all at once, we can and we should prioritize the moment that needs a more immediate response. This is where our discernment and wisdom comes to fruition if we are willing to let the vast reservoir of that wisdom deep within our inner selves materialize and assist us in completing the necessary tasks in the necessary succession of actions and activities and engagements. Sometimes being pragmatic and impatient can hinder and impede our potential success in dealing with each moment appropriately. Knowing whether or not we ought to, never mind what the decision is about the anticipated action, one needs to first decide if we will act in the moment. We can t times become frozen in our stance, hesitating to do anything at all, as if leaving it well enough alone will perhaps just make it all just go away. Avoidance of the moment, may delay what we need to do, but we will ultimately face another moment where such avoidance is impossible. It is however all up to us to focus on and to decide. We can decide. We have the power of choice and we have the opportunity to seize the day, to grab on to this moment that will only come once.

you-are-lovely-quoteSo today, I am here with a couple of these moments set before me. I am in this moment with my friend. I will await and remain engaged and not be distracted. I love and cherish my friend and I am here, present in the moment.

being-in-the-moment-buddha-quoteMy friend just returned from being with the physician’s office. They have a script, and we are off to the pharmacy, and we are both very thankful in this moment for God, for prayer, and for medical care and medication. You see, in this moment, just how much we are thankful for? And we are thankful for the bond of friendship.

Mindfulness-and-Leadership-quote-31May your day, filled with all kinds of moments, be moments you engage in, and take advantage of, so that you will define and shape your life, not by fleeing from such moments, but rather, by engaging fully in the moment, and seizing the moment to live it to the fullest. You have it within yourself to change your day, your circumstances, your life. Life just doesn’t happen. You seize it and you make it happen. Peace.

~ Sam

About Sam Buick

A lover and disciple of Jesus Christ. Married to my best friend, Lori-Anne. Father to 3 incredible daughters, Carragh, Caitlin and Erinn, and sons-in-law Alex, and Stephen Davis. An avid reader, a Droid user, a Mac addict, a lover of footy ball and football (there is a difference), and hockey. Once a soldier. Once a youth worker. Once an ordained minister. Once a claims adjuster. Once a charismatic, now a pacifist. A disciple of Christ, Gospel of grace proclaimer, pursuing union with Christ. There is only one way to God, and that is through Jesus Christ. Jesus unites, dogma divides.
This entry was posted in Mystical, Personal and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

