In Honour Of Canada Day


I am a naturalized Canadian. While proud of my British birth, and my Northern Irish ancestry, I am very proud of being Canadian. In honour of Canada’s 148’th birthday,  I want to post the video of Lianna Klassen’s Song for Canada and the lyrics.

Happy Birthday Canada!  Thank you for being my home and for taking me in.

~ Sam

LYRICS:  Song For Canada by Lianna Klassen

I have felt the wind upon my face
On this Atlantic shore
And in the West I’ve stood and watched
The noble eagles soar
And I have seen the fields of gold
And green and yellow too
And on the majesty of mountains
Touching skies of blue

And my heart’s
Overwhelmed
For this nation that I love
This is my song
For Canada

A song for unity
And a song for freedom
Oh Lord our God
May your healing come
And may the walls that divide us
No longer stand
Oh Lord
Our God
Heal out land

In the colour of the Northern Lights
That leap and dance and sing
In the stillness of the forest where
Snow melts in the spring
In the beauty of the muskeg that is
Red and golden brown
In the quiet expectations of the
City before dawn…

And my heart’s
Overwhelmed
For this nation that I love
This is my song
For Canada

A song for unity
And a song for freedom
Oh Lord our God
May your healing come
And may the walls that divide us
No longer stand
Oh Lord
Our God
Heal our land

Oh, revive this generation
With your fire and your rain
So that the faith this land was founded on
Will come to life again
Oh, may the prayers of intercession rise
As incense to the place
That will touch your heart, oh God…
Oh Father, hear our song…

A song for unity
And a song for freedom
Oh Lord our God
May your healing come
And may the walls that divide us
No longer stand
Oh Lord
Our God
Heal our land

About Sam Buick

A lover and disciple of Jesus Christ. Married to my best friend, Lori-Anne. Father to 3 incredible daughters, Carragh, Caitlin and Erinn, and sons-in-law Alex, and Stephen Davis. An avid reader, a Droid user, a Mac addict, a lover of footy ball and football (there is a difference), and hockey. Once a soldier. Once a youth worker. Once an ordained minister. Once a claims adjuster. Once a charismatic, now a cessationist. Once a just war advocate, now a pacifist. A disciple of Christ, 5 point classical Calvinist. There is only one way to God, and that is through Jesus Christ alone.
This entry was posted in Personal. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

