Being a Sports Fan Reveals Your Inner Heart


I really am not a happy guy right now. Barely 15 minutes ago, the Steelers stole another championship with the assistance of the worlds best known sports league’s amateur referees, who repeated their lousy officiating which has plagued the league this past season. There were more than enough games that were decided not by the players on the field but the men in stripes. The familiar refrain from the last time the Steelers won, against the Seahawks, did indeed happen again. The current NFL officials, and the NFL policy regarding the lack of professional officials is in desperate need of fixing, because in these two Superbowls in particular the officials “fixed” the game and decided the winner, who happen to be the Steelers.

By choice I am a Bills fan. But when the Steelers or Pats, or the Colts or the Chargers are playing in the “big game” I usually cheer for the other team.

What I find really amazing, is the emotions it stirs in a person. I had to step away and go to the bathroom and wash the face paint off my face, and to cool off at the same time. My buttons were being pushed by the mixture of the lousy play of the Cards, and the lousy officiating, and the absurd ways in which the Steelers were getting away with things in this game. I had to take a time out. I occassionally do that when I am really ticked off. I even considered just leaving my daughters alone to watch the game and just go to bed at the end of the second half. My wife looked at me and told me to go back to the girls, as they love watching games with me (I get so animated!).

I went back, and watched, with a mixture of frustration and elation as the Cards kept having to beat both the Steelers and the refs. Unbelieavable how bad these refs were. It was worse than the Seahaws-Steelers game three years ago. My daughter Erinn was of the same mind that these officials were even worse, and that was hard to believe until you actually witnessed the incompetence on the field tonight. We were both incensed.

It sure revealed the turmoil in my heart. It really pushed all these emotional buttons. It pushed that button for the underdog, and the Cards were seconds from being champtions, and Warner played his best game as a pro. He should have been MVP, even if his team lost. The refs spoiled a good effort, and the Steelers can hide behind this “win,” but they can thank God tonight when they go to bed, for giving them the refs they had. They really were biased.

The NFL really has to address this issue. It is needed to give creedence to the sense of impatiality. As a fan I am not impartial. I am very biased. To the extreme sometimes. I am 50 years old, and I act like a 16 year old! I pout when I lose. Even when I played competive sports, if I even suspected that our team had been cheated by lousy officiating, I would refuse to shake hands with the oponents or the refs at the end of the game. Some said I was a poor sport, and I would respond, that I did not play the game for the sake of “good sportsmanship” but to win within the rules and impartial officiating. If I felt cheated I refused to give creedence that I had participated in a good clean game by sanctifying it with my blessing by shaking hands at the end of the contest. I would tell them, if it is a competition, why play that down? If it is only a game, why play it at all. If there is no meaning to winning or losing, why even suit up, practice, and put in the time and the discipline to become proficient at the game? If it is only about sportsmanship then competitive sports sucks! I still feel that way, and even more so when watching a league that is supposedly the most loved and cherished in N. America, and they refuse to have pro referees. That very idea appears to be lunacy. Why support the NFL and its game, if they don’t want to make it better by providing real professional referees?

Well, as far as I am concerned I saw some ungliness in my heart tonight. It proves again, how much more of my character has to be renewed and transformed, even when I am a spectator of the NFL’s big game. O well. God help me, and expose every wicked way in me, and please, help me deal with all the buttons that get pushed. Amen.

About Sam Buick

A lover and disciple of Jesus Christ. Married to my best friend, Lori-Anne. Father to 3 incredible daughters, Carragh, Caitlin and Erinn, and sons-in-law Alex, and Stephen Davis. An avid reader, a Droid user, a Mac addict, a lover of footy ball and football (there is a difference), and hockey. Once a soldier. Once a youth worker. Once an ordained minister. Once a claims adjuster. Once a charismatic, now a cessationist. Once a just war advocate, now a pacifist. A disciple of Christ, 5 point classical Calvinist. There is only one way to God, and that is through Jesus Christ alone.
This entry was posted in Personal, Society and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

