Time To Use the Blog?


It has been quite some time now since we have used the Blog.  Perhaps now that things have settled down a bit for all of us, it may be useful to blog issues and articles of worth that may be of assistance to others as well as ourselves.

For starters, thanks to all for your friendship and openness to walk with me through this journey.  Walking away from a lot of hype and a lot of people’s expectations as well as my own confused aspirations and desires can all be confusing, and add to it, being a man who thinks he has to have all the answers and have everything together, and you have the potential for a mess.  It has taken a four year journey, with a brief year long stop gap in the middle of it, to come to this place of ceasing and desisting from being what I do not believe to be biblical any longer, not that I ever did believe it.  Maybe it was just me wanting God so much, I was willing to settle for another human being defining what that is for me, and then believe all the hype around me.

I have also learned that what you believe will determine how you act.  I am not a dispensationalist, never have been.  I am driven by what I read in Scripture and see in the chronicle of human history.  I am a Preterist, and one who happens to believe there is still a valid use for all the spiritual gifts.  That does not make me a whacky charismatic, but hopefully a thoughtful and biblical Christian who sees the church (body of Christ) still in need of maturity into who Christ called her to be.  I was and want to still more so, be a biblical Christian.  There is no hype, when you believe the Preterist view of the “times of the end.”  It is complete rest in who Jesus is and what He accomplished, and what He still wants to do in each of us, who embody His Kingdom rule.  He wants His Kingdom expressed through out lives, affecting change one life at a time.  This is how the Kingdom advances.

As men this becomes ever more practical and relevant, for all our relationships have meaning and purpose.  There is none of this grand eye popping sensationalist “destiny” language to be wrestled with.  Our destiny is outlined in Romans 8.  We are to be conformed to the mind of Christ and to be transformed from glory to glory and become perfected in Him.  We are predestined to do this.  I embrace that this is the reason for my life at this time, in God’s economy.  I am to become transformed into the image of Christ.  That is the only “destiny” to worry about.  It is not wrapped up in who I am as a man, and what grand purpose there is in my life, as if the ministry God has for me, is somehow dependent upon me making it happen.  I am to rest in Christ and allow Him to live out His life in and through me, and for that I am eternally grateful.

So men, rise up, and let Christ shine in you and through you.  Surrender, yield, submit and obey the little things that He lays before you.  It will revolutionize your life as a man and as the priest in your family, and as a fellow participant in the Kingdom of God.

Cheers,

Sam

About Sam Buick

A lover and disciple of Jesus Christ. Married to my best friend, Lori-Anne. Father to 3 incredible daughters, Carragh, Caitlin and Erinn, and sons-in-law Alex, and Stephen Davis. An avid reader, a Droid user, a Mac addict, a lover of footy ball and football (there is a difference), and hockey. Once a soldier. Once a youth worker. Once an ordained minister. Once a claims adjuster. Once a charismatic, now a cessationist. Once a just war advocate, now a pacifist. A disciple of Christ, 5 point classical Calvinist. There is only one way to God, and that is through Jesus Christ alone.
This entry was posted in Church, Ministry, Personal and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

