Still Overwhelmned At How God Provided Me With A Job


Hi again

I was so excited still last night that I did not shut my eyes to sleep until 2:35 in the morning! LOL! Getting that call at 2:06 in the afternoon yesterday informing me that I was being offered a job is still causing me to be overwhelmned!

God certainly will direct our paths when we submit to Him, and He will not necessarily give to us that which is the most obvious. If we truly want to be led by the Spirit and the Word, that means we are going to see with our natural eye doors close and doors open which seem completely contrary to what it should be. I had a lot of situations from losing the job, to job searching, to the few face to face interviews I actually did (a total of four!), and in each case, God closed doors I was sure He was opening, and in this case, He opened a door I thought was shut four months ago.

Lori, my cherished wife knew the week before, the Thursday before (6 September) that I would be hired on the 13th of September. The Lord spoke to her prophetically the day I lost my job that it would be six months to the date that He would provide for us. Sure enough a week before, even before (6th September) I got contacted for the interview ( I had submitted my resume four months previous, when they had no openings, and never even got confirmation of receipt of the resume), Lori sensed I would be interviewed for a job and would be given the job on the following Thursday. She pondered it in her heart, and she prayed into it, and had a real peace to not strive, but to rest, and that the job would be there for me.

On the Friday (7th September), I was contacted by the company that I thought had rejected me four months before. They said that they had kept my resume and that they had a job with my skill sets, and wanted to know if I was still looking for a job! Hah! They were looking for me! Now who do you think put that in their heads? Come on now, we know that God orders our steps and is opening and closing doors all along the way, and all we have to do is follow His leading and walk through them! Right? I thought OK, this might be it! The person was really keen on the phone, and they wanted me to come WITH my references, so they had to be really interested.

Sure enough, I interviewed on the Monday. They called my references on Tuesday, Wednesday and the Thursday, and then called me back and offered me the job, exactly six months to the date and to the time I cleaned out my desk at 2:06 pm, 13 March 2007, when I walked out of the door of my last employer. Totally amazing!

The steps of a righteous man are ordered by the Lord. Ponder that thought. The steps… where a person lays down their feet to walk, all of that is ordered by the Lord. Everywhere a righteous person (righteous in Christ, not our own righteousness) walks, every place that is entered, every encounter with a person or persons, every face to face exchange, every step, and that means every single one, is ordered by the Lord. That is how precisely He leads us as we yield to Him. He is so sovereign that nothing, including where we walk that surprises Him. He is already ahead of us, opening doors and shutting doors. The key is in our relationship with HIm, in hearing His voice, obeying His written word, yielding to His promptings and listening to the still small voice and discerning what we ought to do. I am totally amazed at how not one iota was out of sync with His heart, and how He knew when I needed a job and where I needed a job, and He even had the company seek me out! I am truly blessed!

Blessings to all of you!

Sam

About Sam Buick

A lover and disciple of Jesus Christ. Married to my best friend, Lori-Anne. Father to 3 incredible daughters, Carragh, Caitlin and Erinn, and sons-in-law Alex, and Stephen Davis. An avid reader, a Droid user, a Mac addict, a lover of footy ball and football (there is a difference), and hockey. Once a soldier. Once a youth worker. Once an ordained minister. Once a claims adjuster. Once a charismatic, now a cessationist. Once a just war advocate, now a pacifist. A disciple of Christ, 5 point classical Calvinist. There is only one way to God, and that is through Jesus Christ alone.
This entry was posted in Personal and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Still Overwhelmned At How God Provided Me With A Job

  1. CresceNet says:

    Gostei muito desse post e seu blog é muito interessante, vou passar por aqui sempre =) Depois dá uma passada lá no meu site, que é sobre o CresceNet, espero que goste. O endereço dele é http://www.provedorcrescenet.com . Um abraço.

    Like

  2. Webcam says:

    Hello. This post is likeable, and your blog is very interesting, congratulations :-). I will add in my blogroll =). If possible gives a last there on my blog, it is about the Webcam, I hope you enjoy. The address is http://webcam-brasil.blogspot.com. A hug.

    Like

Leave a Reply

