Samson society


From: perry petrushko
Date: May 30, 2007 9:02 PM
Subject: [sursum-corda] Samson society
TO:

Hi everyone,

This guy has it figured out. I would not know what he was *really* talking about or trying to get at if I had not been meeting with you guys.
http://www.samsonsociety.org/samson/home.html

Regards,
Perry

“What is the Samson Society?
The Samson Society is a fellowship of Christian men who are serious about authenticity, community, humility and recovery – serious, but not grave. Samson guys are traveling-companions on a great spiritual adventure, not grim pilgrims on a death march to personal holiness. We challenge each other daily to believe the incredible news that God actually knows us, loves us, and has restored us to himself. As we follow Christ together, we find our lives progressively interrupted by righteousness, peace and joy. more…

He has the first 4 parts of his book online…it does not get good until half way through part 2. The rest is interesting

http://www.myspace.com/isamson
From the site…

About Nate Larkin
My name is Nate, but you can call me Samson. That¹s the code name my friends have given me, and for reasons you may eventually understand, I¹ve given the same symbolic name to each of them. Together, we are the Samson Society.

These are my best friends, the men of the Samson Society. Real men. Real Christian men. Real screwed-up Christian men. Separately we can act like complete morons, but together — together we are a formidable force for good, an alliance to be reckoned with.

I haven¹t always had friends. When I was little I had playmates, mostly my brothers and sisters. In school I had classmates. I am a congenial sort of guy, usually pretty well known around town and fairly well liked. In business and at church I have always had plenty of ³hello-friends,² but not real friends, not the kind you can count on to carry your casket and look after your wife and kids when you die. Whenever anyone offered that kind of friendship, I disappeared.

During most of the last 28 years I had only one real friend, my wife, Allie. As far as I knew, she was the only person who knew my crap and loved me anyway. It was hard on Allie, being my only friend. Sure, she wanted me all to herself sometimes. She liked the feeling of togetherness we experienced when my head was actually at home. But she got tired of being the only one who could confront me when I was wrong, advise me when I was confused, and cheer
me up when I was depressed. I piled the weight of all my missing friendships onto her and then got mad when she acted like a girl.

What I needed was friends. Comrades. And now I have them. I¹ve written the story of how it happened, along with random commentary about subjects as diverse as Linux, the Bible, baseball, and the killing of Julius Caesar.

I can promise you one thing. The story isn¹t boring.

Adapted from the Introduction to Samson and the Pirate Monks By Nate Larkin
[Thomas Nelson Publishers, 2006]

About Sam Buick

A lover and disciple of Jesus Christ. Married to my best friend, Lori-Anne. Father to 3 incredible daughters, Carragh, Caitlin and Erinn, and sons-in-law Alex, and Stephen Davis. An avid reader, a Droid user, a Mac addict, a lover of footy ball and football (there is a difference), and hockey. Once a soldier. Once a youth worker. Once an ordained minister. Once a claims adjuster. Once a charismatic, now a cessationist. Once a just war advocate, now a pacifist. A disciple of Christ, 5 point classical Calvinist. There is only one way to God, and that is through Jesus Christ alone.
This entry was posted in Church, Ministry and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

