Home is where the heart is….


The more I connect with people, the more I realize that the idea of family and connectedness is central to the the heart of God in redemption. We have been redeemed by the Lord of relationship to be in relationship with Him and with one another. Of all the language of the New Testament, the most compelling, the most raw and in your face, is the “one another” passages, and in particular the “love one another” passages and their implications.

For many, and I among them, we have cherished the “home is my castle” mentality. This is not a negative, and even though it may appear to be an oxymoron, it is not. Our homes should be places of refuge, such as a castle, but our homes too need to be like an open garden, a place of welcoming and resting. Our homes should be “safe” places for people, and also a welcoming place for new people, new relationships.

Home is where the heart is. If our hearts are open to the Lord and His passion and compassion, surely we will yield to Him, and seek to open up our homes to new people, and new relationships, and the deepening and strengthening of existing relationships.

One of my concerns in the “house church movement” is the capacity to “ghetto-ize” and become separate from those relationships we had previously. I am seeking to remain connected with people I was once closer to, and also seeking to re-connect in some relationships that have become somewhat distant.

This year, I am seeking to be more open and more generous in how I live my life. When I have been hurt, rejected and wounded, I have sought to protect myself by cutting myself off from others. I look forward for the Lord to continue to renew relationships in my life, and I am thankful for the relationships the Lord restored and strengthened in 2005.

Blessings,
Sam

About Sam Buick

A lover and disciple of Jesus Christ. Married to my best friend, Lori-Anne. Father to 3 incredible daughters, Carragh, Caitlin and Erinn, and sons-in-law Alex, and Stephen Davis. An avid reader, a Droid user, a Mac addict, a lover of footy ball and football (there is a difference), and hockey. Once a soldier. Once a youth worker. Once an ordained minister. Once a claims adjuster. Once a charismatic, now a pacifist. A disciple of Christ, Gospel of grace proclaimer, pursuing union with Christ. There is only one way to God, and that is through Jesus Christ. Jesus unites, dogma divides.
This entry was posted in Church, Kingdom of God and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

