Strain, Stress, Seeking Shelter…


Ever had one of those days… with me it has been one of those weeks. The nature of my job, in claims support is taking initial claims reports and passing on the files to adjusters. First contact with people under stress can take its toll, espescially when there are CAT (catastrophe) situations.The dealing of the stress and anxiety that assaults us is not what I would consider “comfortable chaos” where we are able to juggle and multi task and sail through the situation. I don’t believe such a state in being actually exists or can be attained. I would venture to say that it is likely a delusional state.

I have been overwhelmed of late with work (too much of it and not enough of a meaningful break in between), planning and setting up a seminar, and the balancing act of trying to meet the needs of the important people in my life.

I am under strain and stress, no doubt you are as well. This is why I am running to my “Shelter”… Today I found comfort in the song by Brent Helming… Let this be a prayer today, for you and for me, and for all those who are needing to rest in Jesus…

YOU SHELTER ME

Jesus, You are my shelter
In You I find hope
In You I find peace
Though I stumble
Your love never falters
In You I find grace
In You I find strength
You are my Rock of Refuge
And You shelter me

You shelter me
In the darkness of nights
Through the stormiest seas
The light of Your love
Is a beacon of safety to me
You shelter me

Jesus, You are a strong tower
All my enemies flee,
When I call on Your name
Yes, You are my Rock of Refuge
And You shelter me

May you feel and know the One who indeed shelters you.

Blessings from the eye of the storm,
Sam

About Sam Buick

A lover and disciple of Jesus Christ. Married to my best friend, Lori-Anne. Father to 3 incredible daughters, Carragh, Caitlin and Erinn, and sons-in-law Alex, and Stephen Davis. An avid reader, a Droid user, a Mac addict, a lover of footy ball and football (there is a difference), and hockey. Once a soldier. Once a youth worker. Once an ordained minister. Once a claims adjuster. Once a charismatic, now a cessationist. Once a just war advocate, now a pacifist. A disciple of Christ, 5 point classical Calvinist. There is only one way to God, and that is through Jesus Christ alone.
This entry was posted in Personal and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

